We all know the seven deadly sins, which are greed, gluttony, envy, lust, sloth, pride, and wrath. Well, it turns out they are not the worst sins out there that one can commit, there are 35 more that are just as bad. Altogether, they are 42 sins, according to the goddess Maat, the lady justice of Ancient Egypt of course.

Before we go any further, I must confess that I have an utter fascination, enchantation (I know this is not English, but it is very expressive), and mesmerisation with the mysticism inherent in the Ancient Egyptian civilisation. I am enticed, and spell bound, it is just so magical. I say mysticism because with the Ancient Egyptians what you see is not entirely what you get, they always leave something for the enchanted. Trust me, I know, I can even prove it! Anyway back to our subject, the 42 sins (aka The 42 Laws Of Maat).

Maat, the goddess of Justice in Ancient Egypt.

Maat was the ultimate law upholder, she was the concept of justice, truth, law, balance, and order in society, as well as the cosmos. She regulated societies, stars, and seasons, for humans (alive and dead), as well as deities,  and she prevented the universe from going into chaos.

In Ancient Egypt, no one could cross over to the eternal life without Maat’s just decision. When a person died they first meet with her, for she needed to get 42 declarations from them to proceed (which are all in the negative), after that, she took the deceased’s heart, put it on her scale against the feather that she wore on her head. If the feather weighed more than the heart, she threw the heart to the beast, which meant that the deceased would head south, to the bad eternal life (aka hell), and if the heart weighed more than her feather, then they head straight to the good life, where the boat awaited to go to where the trees are (aka heaven).

Maat’s  42  Declarations:

1.I have not committed sin.
2.I have not committed robbery with violence.
3.I have not stolen.
4.I have not slain men or women.
5.I have not stolen food.
6.I have not swindled offerings.
7.I have not stolen from God/Goddess.
8.I have not told lies.
9.I have not carried away food.
10.I have not cursed.
11.I have not closed my ears to truth.
12.I have not committed adultery.
13.I have not made anyone cry.
14.I have not felt sorrow without reason.
15.I have not assaulted anyone.
16.I am not deceitful.
17.I have not stolen anyone’s land.
18.I have not been an eavesdropper.
19.I have not falsely accused anyone.
20.I have not been angry without reason.
21.I have not seduced anyone’s wife.
22.I have not polluted myself.
23.I have not terrorized anyone.
24.I have not disobeyed the Law.
25.I have not been exclusively angry.
26.I have not cursed God/Goddess.
27.I have not behaved with violence.
28.I have not caused disruption of peace.
29.I have not acted hastily or without thought.
30.I have not overstepped my boundaries of concern.
31.I have not exaggerated my words when speaking.
32.I have not worked evil.
33.I have not used evil thoughts, words or deeds.
34.I have not polluted the water.
35.I have not spoken angrily or arrogantly.
36.I have not cursed anyone in thought, word or deeds.
37.I have not placed myself on a pedestal.
38.I have not stolen what belongs to God/Goddess.
39.I have not stolen from or disrespected the deceased.
40.I have not taken food from a child.
41.I have not acted with insolence.
42.I have not destroyed property belonging to God/Goddess

The Judgement

I believe that Maat’s 42 sins are a more expanded, and detailed version of the seven deadly sins we know, which in my humble opinion, is a reflection of how delicate, therefore, just and accurate her rule and her scale are; hence, the feather!

How very magical.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s